FET — Forum Energy Technologies, Inc. · 2026-09-09 · Verdict: PASS · Conviction 4
Price $79.86 (screen row, QUALITY.md dated 2026-09-08; no live price) · Mkt cap $898M (11,246,295 sh) · EV $1,013M · EV/normalised EBIT 17.4x · FCF yield 7.2% trailing / 7.5% on guidance · Net debt $114.8M · ADV $15.1M Sources read: 10-K filed 2026-02-27 (FY2025; Items 1, 1A, 7), 10-Q filed 2026-07-31 (Q2 2026), DEF 14A 2026-03-27, 8-Ks 2026-05-01, 2026-05-12, 2026-05-15, 2026-07-30, 2026-08-31, Form 4s (12 filings, 2026-03-05 to 2026-08-20), Q2 2026 earnings release (no call transcript was filed as an exhibit).
Desk stats
- Revenue trend. FY2025 revenue $791.5M, down 3.1% from $816.4M (10-K, Item 7). Q2 2026 $226.2M, up 13.2% year over year; H1 $434.9M, up 10.7% (10-Q, Item 2). The driver is volume and mix, not acquisition or price: subsea ROVs and aftermarket parts, wireline cable, coiled tubing, drilling capital equipment, plus the absence of the prior year's tariff hit to valves. Global rigs averaged 1,759 in Q2 2026 against 1,777 a year earlier, so this is share gain and backlog conversion into a flat market.
- Normalised after-tax operating profit. LTM to 30 June 2026 GAAP operating income is $38.2M (FY2025 $30.1M less H1 2025 $23.5M plus H1 2026 $31.5M). Adjustments, each from the company's own reconciliations: restructuring and other costs +$4.5M; transaction expenses +$0.6M; inventory and other asset impairment adjustments +$19.2M; gain on sale-leaseback transactions −$4.3M (FY2025 release, Table 2; Q2 2026 release, Tables 1-2). Normalised operating income $58.2M; taxed at 25%, $43.7M normalised after-tax profit. GAAP beside it: LTM net income is negative $1.6M, because FY2025 carried $26.2M of tax expense on $16.6M of pretax income (10-K, Item 7).
- EV / normalised after-tax profit. EV = $898.1M equity + $148.5M debt principal − $33.7M cash = $1,012.9M; over $43.7M is 23.2x trailing. On the raised FY2026 guide (adjusted EBITDA $115-125M less ~$30.7M D&A and ~$10.3M stock compensation, taxed 25%) it is about 17.1x; the guided adjusted net income midpoint of $47M is 19.1x the market cap.
- Leverage. Net debt $114.8M / LTM adjusted EBITDA $100.4M = 1.14x (Q2 2026 release, Table 7), comfortable, though it excludes $80.8M of operating lease assets created largely by the 2024-2025 sale-leasebacks.
- Is the growth sustainable? Organic and guided up three times this year, but only weakly cash-backed and decelerating at the order line: H1 free cash flow was $11.0M against $54.6M of adjusted EBITDA because receivables consumed $31.4M, and Q2 orders fell 10.3% year over year with book-to-bill down to 1.04 from 1.32 (10-Q, Item 2; Q2 2026 release).
- What the screen got wrong. The $119.1M impairment it added back to CY2025 operating income was recorded in 2024. The 10-K: "In 2024, an impairment loss of $119.1 million was recorded on intangible assets within the Coiled Tubing product line", and the results table shows the line as "—" for 2025 against $119,123 for 2024 (Item 7). The screen's "normalised EBIT $149.3M" and "9.0x EV/after-tax profit" are arithmetic on the wrong year. Secondarily, it used only LongTermDebtNoncurrent of $142.4M and understated net debt by $6.1M.
1. What the business actually does
FET manufactures equipment for oilfield service companies and producers in two segments. Drilling and Completions (60% of FY2025 revenue) makes drilling rig equipment, subsea ROVs and trenchers, submarine rescue vehicles, pressure pumping equipment, wireline cable and coiled tubing strings. Artificial Lift and Downhole (40%) makes artificial lift protection, casing and cementing equipment, Variperm sand and flow control tools for heavy oil, production equipment and industrial valves (10-K, Item 1). About 80% of FY2025 revenue came from consumables and activity-based equipment, 75% in H1 2026. No customer exceeded 10% of revenue in either of the last two years, and backlog was $311.6M at year end against $213.5M a year earlier, most of it deliverable within six months (10-K, Item 1).
2. Why it is mispriced — the edge case
There is none, and that decides the verdict. The GAAP artefact the screen flagged is real but belongs to the fourth quarter of 2024, so the market has had six quarters to digest it. Nothing is forcing anyone to sell: the register is BlackRock 6.5%, Vanguard 5.7% and Dimensional 5.2% (DEF 14A), daily volume is $15.1M, and there is no spin or index event. The stock is up 185% over twelve months and sits 7.5% below its 52-week high. The traffic runs the other way. Across the twelve Form 4 filings the pack captured (2026-03-05 to 2026-08-20) there were $2.72M of open-market sales and zero purchases: the CFO sold 20,068 shares at $78.09-$81.08 on 2026-08-20, cutting his holding 14% to 123,181; the General Counsel sold 10,000 shares at $70.41-$82.19 between 2026-08-03 and 2026-08-11; the Chief Human Resources Officer sold three times. Eight days after the CFO's sale, the company filed a Gibson Dunn legality opinion in connection with a prospectus supplement off its Form S-3 shelf (8-K 2026-08-31, Item 8.01); the bundle does not disclose what security was offered, a live gap rather than a comfort.
3. Unit economics and growth, and the GAAP reconciliation (artifact_flag is true)
FY2025 GAAP operating income $30.145M. Add restructuring and other costs $4.592M and transaction expenses $0.546M; add $19.626M of inventory and other asset impairment adjustments; subtract the $11.182M gain on sale-leaseback transactions. Adjusted operating income $43.727M, the company's own figure (FY2025 release, Table 2). Add nothing for the intangible impairment: that line is zero in 2025. The same table runs 2024 from a GAAP operating loss of $86.767M to adjusted operating income of $38.720M, with the $119.123M impairment the bulk of the bridge. Normalised earnings power was $38.7M in 2024 and $43.7M in 2025, not $149M. The 2025 charge is only partly non-recurring: the $19.6M of write-downs came from consolidating facilities and discontinuing products, $20.2M of it inside Drilling and Completions segment income (10-K, Item 7), a second straight year of large write-offs on the Coiled Tubing and facility footprint, with $2.353M more in H1 2026.
Q2 2026 was genuinely good: segment operating income $21.1M on 9.3% margin against $8.2M and 4.1% a year earlier, Drilling and Completions margin 9.9% from 6.2% and Artificial Lift and Downhole 18.7% from 12.6%, on volume, mix, operating leverage and the facility consolidation (10-Q, Item 2). Return on capital is modest: $43.7M of normalised after-tax operating profit on roughly $560M of invested capital is about 8%. Cash conversion is the weak point: H1 operating cash flow was $14.1M against $25.1M a year earlier because receivables consumed $31.4M, leaving $11.0M of free cash flow, so H2 must produce $46M, four times H1, just to reach the low end of the guide.
4. Balance sheet and capital allocation
Debt is $100M of 2029 Bonds, $45.0M drawn on the revolver and $3.5M of other debt, against $33.7M of cash and $62.0M of revolver availability (10-Q, Item 2). Capital allocation has been shareholder-friendly: 1.4 million shares, 11% of the company, repurchased for $34.3M in 2025 and $7.6M more in H1 2026, with capital expenditure guided below $10.0M. Insiders and directors hold 7.7% and CEO Neal Lux 3.1% (DEF 14A). Pay is 35% adjusted EBITDA and 35% free cash flow; the 2025 plan paid 200% on free cash flow because $80M was delivered against a $59M target, beaten partly with asset monetisation.
5. Management: what they said vs what they did
Management has raised guidance twice and delivered. The 19 February 2026 initial guide was revenue $800-880M, adjusted EBITDA $90-110M and free cash flow $55-75M; on 30 July it became $870-910M, $115-125M, adjusted net income $42-52M and free cash flow $57-77M. Lux: "our team exceeded expectations... we achieved a stellar quarter" (Q2 2026 release). That record is why this is a PASS on price, not on quality. Note what the raise omits: free cash flow rose only 3% at the midpoint while adjusted EBITDA rose 17%.
6. Valuation
Base: 2027 adjusted EBITDA holds at the 2026 guide midpoint of $120M as a flat rig count caps volume, 7.5x EV/EBITDA, net debt $100M, about $68 a share. Bear: the cycle rolls and EBITDA reverts to the 2025 actual of $86.4M at 6.0x, about $35. Bull: the FET 2030 plan compounds to $150M of EBITDA by 2028 at 8.5x with net debt down to $50M, about $104, discounted two years to $86. Weighting base 50%, bear 25%, bull 25% gives $64, roughly 20% below price. Reverse DCF: at $79.86 against guided 2026 adjusted EPS of about $4.00 on 11.77 million diluted shares and a 10% cost of equity, the price implies about 5% perpetual growth from a 2026 in which adjusted net income is guided up 571%, capitalising the best year since the last cycle as a permanent base.
7. Catalysts and timeline
The Q3 print in late October, guided to $225-245M of revenue and $31-37M of adjusted EBITDA, tests whether orders re-accelerate; the February print carries the free cash flow the guide defers to H2 and the first 2027 guide.
8. Risks and what would prove the thesis wrong (pre-registered kill criteria)
- Book-to-bill above 1.10 for two consecutive quarters with total orders up year over year (Q2 2026 was 1.04 on orders down 10.3%), which would make the backlog burn a share-gain story rather than a drawdown.
- H2 2026 free cash flow of $46M or more with receivables growing no faster than revenue; below that the guide fails on working capital.
- Any open-market insider purchase, against $2.72M of sales and zero buys in the captured window.
- Price near $55, where guided 2026 adjusted EPS is about 14x and the base case carries a margin of safety.
9. Verdict and one-paragraph summary
PASS, conviction 4. Forum Energy Technologies is a better business than it was two years ago, with net leverage down to 1.1x, 11% of its shares retired in 2025, Q2 segment margin at 9.3% against 4.1%, and guidance raised twice this year, but there is no mispricing left to buy. The screen's "9.0x EV/after-tax profit" is arithmetic on the wrong year: the $119.1 million intangible impairment it added back to 2025 operating income was recorded in the fourth quarter of 2024, and the 10-K prints the 2025 line as zero. Corrected against the company's own reconciliations, normalised operating income was $43.7 million in 2025 and $58.2 million trailing, so the same $1.01 billion enterprise value is 23.2x trailing and about 17x the raised 2026 guide, after a 185% twelve-month run that leaves the stock 7.5% below its high with no forced seller in a register of BlackRock, Vanguard and Dimensional. Underneath the raise, second-quarter orders fell 10.3% year over year and book-to-bill dropped from 1.32 to 1.04, first-half free cash flow was $11.0 million against a guide needing $46-66 million in the second half, and the only insiders to trade sold, the CFO cutting 14% of his stake at $78-81 eight days before the company filed a prospectus supplement off its shelf whose subject the bundle does not disclose. At $79.86 the price already implies 5% perpetual growth from a year in which adjusted net income is guided up 571%, against a probability-weighted $64.
Research for discussion, not investment advice. Positions and sizing are the reader's decision.